Tags

, , ,

Seaweed & Cucumber Salad

I LOVE seaweed salad.  I like to think I am eating mass amounts of vitamins and phytochemicals (really really good plant stuff).  I order it every time we go out for sushi.  The type I found isn’t the one they use at most of the restaurants, but it was still the same flavor.  I mean seaweed is seaweed, I guess.

Serves 4

  • 3 small or 1 English cucumber, sliced into thin rounds
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 oz dried wakame seaweed
  • 4 tbsp rice vinegar
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 2 tbsp sesame oil

Place cucumber slices in a colander and sprinkle with salt.  Let the moisture drain out for 15 minutes.  While the cucumbers are sitting, soak the wakame according to package instructions to soften and rehydrate the seaweed.

Dried Wakame

When the seaweed is done, strain the seaweed and place into a medium bowl.

Add the cucumbers to the bowl.  In a small bowl, mix together sugar, vinegar and sesame oil.  Pour the dressing over the seaweed and cucumber mixture and stir to combine well.

